Trying to Catch Up

October 3, 2007 at 5:03 pm (knitting) (, , )

Trying to catch up

I went home last weekend for my cousin’s wedding.  The drive (6-7 hours each way) is long.  But the trip was worth it.  My cousin is the closest thing I have to a brother.  We grew up together.  He scared away all potential dates in high school.  If I hadn’t moved away, I might still be single.  Seeing him with his new wife was so special.  I wish them all happiness.

Unfortunately, I’ve spent this whole week feeling like I’m running behind.  I guess that’s from not really having any time off.  I still managed to get some things accomplished.  Yesterday, I made Kale, Sweet Potatoes, and Squash soup from Vegetarian Soups for All Seasons:  Beautiful Vegan Soups and Stews for Every Time of Year by Nava Atlas.  Delish!  I followed it up today with some Cheezy Quackers.  And this was my lunch:

Here’s a closeup:

I also worked up a swatch for IK’s Tilted Duster in my Dragon Berroco Peruvia.  It took forever.  I forgot to check my Options needle before I started.  One end was a US 9 and the other needle was a US 7.  D’oh!  Despite the challenges, the swatch was completed and washed.  The color is a bit greener than this pic:

Come Saturday night, I’m casting this puppy on.  Thankfully, I listened to the WEBS podcast with Norah Gaughan before starting.  She convinced my to go with the medium size instead of the large.  I worried that it would be too small since the medium is my bust measurement.  But I will trust Norah.  Because I think 4 extra inches just won’t work.

1 Comment

  1. Rainy Days and Fridays « TNTknits said,

    [...] and Yellow Squash Soup from Vegetarian Soups for all Seasons by Neva Atlas.  I made this soup last year, and I believe it was the last recipe I discussed with my grandmother.  Instead of serving the [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

