My Inner Farmgirl

July 2, 2008 at 11:10 am (farmgirl) ()

I grew up in a small town in NC.  My grandparents would take me “to the country” just about every weekend.  We’d visit family all over the county.  I remember wandering in the woods with Granddaddy looking for grapevines to make wreaths.  Granddaddy also had the greenest thumb around.  We didn’t have a lot of room for gardening, but we always had cherry tomatoes or tommy toes and the occasional cucumber.  He spent most of his time growing flowers and plants to sell at the local flea marcket.  I learned to cook with my grandmother and even sewed a bit as a kid.  

My return to my inner farmgirl began with learning to knit in grad school.  Crochet followed a few years later.  This spring, I’ve taken sewing classes.  All with an aim to make my time meaningful for myself and my family.  I like to stay busy and have something I love at the end of the day.  

Having two girls of my own, I want to make sure I’m teaching them the right things.  Fruits and veggies aren’t magically grown in those bins at the grocery store.  Playing in the mud and digging for earthworms is fun.  Making something with your own two hands is one of the most satisfying things you can do.  

Miss Violet of Lime and Violet has created the Plurkette Hencircle, a chapter of the Farmgirl Sisterhood.  The goal is to create a supportive community that shares ideas, projects, and even works for merit badges.  The inner Farmgirl is delighted to know I have more fun ways to learn new things and keep creating.

Leave a Reply

