Twilight Walks

October 4, 2008 at 9:35 pm (cooking) (, )

The weather has been cool this week. Fall is definitely in the air. This time of year always gets me in the mood for a good walk. I leashed the dog and set out. Just around our corner, we met up with some neighbors. We had a great chat, and I snagged some tasty basil. I think it’s pesto and gnocchi for dinner tomorrow!

After a brief trip home to put the basil in water, Bran (the dog) and I had a nice 40 minute walk. The sun set, and stars came out. It was a fantastic way to spend the evening. Far better than vegging on the couch.

As I’ve been moving the blog over, I saw that I’ve mentioned my grandmother’s Chocolate Cream Cheese Pound Cake. I also mentioned it on the latest episode of Craft Mentality. It’s been nearly a year since she passed away, and it’s only been in this past week that I felt like making my favorite cake again. This cake is certainly not health food, but it is a great comfort food. I thought I’d share the recipe.

Grandmommy’s Chocolate Cream Cheese Pound Cake

  • 1 1/2 c (3 sticks) butter
  • 8 oz cream cheese
  • 2 2/3 c sugar
  • 6 eggs
  • 1 Tbsp vanilla
  • 3 c flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 c cocoa

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Cream the butter and cheese.  Add the sugar and mix until light and fluffy.  With the mixer running, add the eggs one at a time.  Stir in vanilla.  Mix the dry ingredients in another bowl.  Add the dry ingredients to your batter.  Do not overmix.  Cook the cake for 1 1/2 hours, but start checking the cake to see if it’s done after 1 hr and 20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

