Rainy Days and Fridays

October 17, 2008 at 6:45 pm (Uncategorized)

I’ve been working on my Mormor shawl this week, and the knitting is going well.  I love the Lime and Violet Oops yarn.  The color is lovely, muted blues and purples.  The yarn has a sheen and a softness that makes it a pleasure to knit.  Why am I telling you about this instead of showing you?  The weather was so overcast all day that I was afraid the rain would drown my shawl before I could snap a photo.  As soon as the sun comes back, I’ll post a pic.

Finally, both the kids were back in school.  I had a busy morning, involving bagels and grocery trips and a red-tailed hawk soaring a few feet from me with a rabbit in its talons.  The hawk was being chased by a blue jay.  I’m serious.  I’ve seen small birds dive on hawk, but never one bird take on a hawk with a fresh kill.  I couldn’t see where the hawk landed, but eventually the jay flew off.  I hope the hawk had a nice meal.

The cloudy, cool day put me in the mood for soup.  Once the kiddos and I were back home, I started on some homemade vegetable broth.  I used Vegan Yum Yum’s recipe as a guide.  I added carrots, onions, celery, parsnips, broccoli, turnips, mushrooms, and parsley.  The house smelled pretty interesting by the time the broth was ready.

I strained the broth and immediately started making the Sweet Potato, Kale, and Yellow Squash Soup from Vegetarian Soups for all Seasons by Neva Atlas.  I made this soup last year, and I believe it was the last recipe I discussed with my grandmother.  Instead of serving the soup with rice, I used quinoa which I cooked in more homemade veggie broth.  I think my grandmother would have loved it.

The finished soup had a light sweet flavor.  I probably could have used more salt in the broth, but I did not want to overdo it.  Now I’ve got five cups of broth in the freezer, ready and waiting for my next recipe.

Leave a Reply

